• School Site Council
    School Councils are required to be in place for all school in Massachusetts as part of the Education Reform Act of 1993. School Councils are representative, school building-based committees composed of the principal, parents, teachers, community members and, at the secondary level, students, required to be established by each school pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 71, Section 59C.

    The purpose of a school council is to:

    • assist the principal in adopting educational goals for the schools,
    • assist the principal in the identification of the educational needs of the students,
    • assist the principal in the review of the annual school budget,
    • assist the principal in the formulation of a school improvement plan.

    The membership of the school council includes the principal, four elected parent members, three teachers and a community member. The council should broadly represent the racial and ethnic diversity of the school building and community. The Massachusetts Department of Education’s website provides detailed information about the mission and the responsibilities of Site-Based Councils.

    School Site Council Members 2017-2018
    Stacey Beutell, Parent
    Sue Campbell, Special Educator
    Lance Conrad, Parent 
    Lisa Contre, Gr. 4 Teacher 
    Rachel Harrington, Parent/Co-Chair
    Jane Kalinski, Community Member 
    Anne Knight, Assistant Principal
    Louise Lipsitz, Principal/Co-Chair 
    Bettina McGimsey, Community Member
    Beverly Montgomery, Parent 
    Brenda Rich, Library